Deadline: January 31, 2023

Entry fee: $15

About the competition

Twice each year TGS will award $1,000 and both print and online publication to the first-place winner of our Screw Turn Flash Fiction Competition. In addition, two honorable mention winners will receive $200 each, as well as publication online, and in our paperbound anthology, 21st Century Ghost Stories—Volume III. Our deadline is January 31. Winners and honorable mentions to be announced and published on February 14.

Competition guidelines

  • As with The Ghost Story Supernatural Fiction Award, in our flash fiction competition we’re seeking the finest work we can find that incorporates an uncanny element. Ghost stories are welcome, of course—but your submission may involve any paranormal or supernatural theme, as well as magic realism. What we’re looking for is superb writing, fresh perspectives, and maybe a few surprises. Please be assured that we will read and carefully evaluate ALL submissions to The Screw Turn Flash Fiction Competition.
  • Formatting: We prefer double-spaced Word documents. We don’t require that you remove your name and contact information from your story. Please include a phone number somewhere in your submission.
  • Enter the competition and read the whole guidelines here.
VoW Research
Author: VoW Research

Be LIT! Please share this page...

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments