Deadline: March 3, 2023

Entry fee: $30

About the competition

AWP’s Award Series is an annual competition for the publication of excellent new book-length
works. The competition is open to all authors writing in English regardless of nationality or
residence, and it is open to published and unpublished authors alike.
The Award Series conducts an evaluation process of writers for writers by writers. AWP hires
a staff of screeners who are themselves writers; the screeners review manuscripts for the
judges. Typically, the screeners will select ten manuscripts in each genre for each judge’s final

Competition guidelines

  • Only book-length manuscripts are eligible. The Award Series defines “book-length” as:
  • Poetry: 48 pages minimum text;
  • Short story or creative nonfiction collection: 150–300 manuscript pages; and
  • Novel: at least 60,000 words.
  • Read the whole guideline and enter the competition here.
VoW Research
Author: VoW Research

Be LIT! Please share this page...

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments