Deadline: January 31, 2023

Entry fee: £5

About the competition

Magma’s 2023/24 poetry competitions are now open for your prize-winning long and short poems.

We are very excited to announce that Raymond Antrobus is the judge for the Judge’s Prize for poems of 11 to 50 lines and he will be reading all entries – there are no sifters. The Editors’ Prize is judged by a panel of Magma Editors and is for poems of up to 10 lines. The prize money for both competitions is the same, so double your chances and try your luck at both.

Raymond Antrobus is the author of To Sweeten Bitter (Out-Spoken Press), The Perseverance (Penned In The Margins), All The Names Given (Picador) and children’s picture book Can Bears Ski? (Walker Books). In 2019 he was a recipient of the Ted Hughes Award; he won the Sunday Times/University of Warwick Young Writer of the Year Award and became the first poet to be awarded the Rathbone Folio Prize. His next collection Signs, Music (Picador) is forthcoming in September 2024.

Competition guideline

  • The quickest and easiest way to enter is via submittable. You’ll be able to upload your poem entries from 1 November 2023 to 31 January 2024, and pay the appropriate entry fee securely by PayPal.
  • Alternatively, you can post your poems with the completed Magma Competition Magma Competition 2023/24 Entry Form together with your payment.
  • The entry fees are £5 for the first poem, £4 for the second and £3.50 for the third and each subsequent poem. Magma magazine subscribers benefit from reduced fees: £4 for the first poem, £3 for the second, and £2.50 for the third and each subsequent poem. Payment must be made in sterling, by cheque or money order payable to “Magma Poetry” for postal entries, and via PayPal for online entries. (PayPal can process payments by card as well as from PayPal accounts.)
  • Read the whole guideline and submit an entry here.
VoW Research
Author: VoW Research

Be LIT! Please share this page...

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments