Deadline: June 30, 2023

Entry fee: €15

About the competition

The Moth Short Story Prize is an international prize, open to anyone from anywhere in the world, as long as their story is original and previously unpublished. The winners are chosen by a single judge each year, who reads the stories anonymously.  Previous judges include Mike McCormack, Belinda McKeon, Donal Ryan, Kit de Waal, Kevin Barry, Mark Haddon, Ali Smith and Sarah Hall.  THE JUDGE

The Prize will be judged this year by Ottessa Moshfegh. Her first novel, Eileen, was shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Man Booker Prize and won the PEN/Hemingway Award for debut fiction. Her next three novels were New York Times bestsellers. She is also the author of a novella, McGlue, and the short story collection Homesick for Another World.

‘Ottessa is one of our newest, most dazzling, daring and outrageous voices in literature’ Vogue

Competition guidelines

  •  Closing date for receipt of entries is 30 June 2023
  • The name of the author must not appear on the same page as the story.
  •   It’s not a requirement, but we strongly advise you to purchase a copy of The Moth.
  •   Entries must be in English, typed, with each entry on a new sheet.
  •   No name or address should appear on the same page as the story.
  •  Entries will not be returned, so make sure you keep a copy.
  •   No corrections can be made after receipt, or fees refunded.
  • Read the whole guideline and submit your entry here.
VoW Research
Author: VoW Research

Be LIT! Please share this page...

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments