Deadline: June 30, 2024

Entry fee: €15

About the competition

The Moth Short Story Prize is an international prize, open to anyone from anywhere in the world, as long as their story is original and previously unpublished. The winners are chosen by a single judge each year, who reads the stories anonymously. 

Previous judges include Ottessa Moshfegh, Kevin Barry, Mark Haddon, Ali Smith and Sarah Hall.


1st prize €3,000

2nd prize a week at Circle of Misse plus open travel stipend

3rd prize €1,000


Louise Kennedy’s novel, Trespasses, won the McKitterick Prize, Debut of the Year at the British Book Awards, the John McGahern Prize and the An Post Irish Book Awards Novel of the Year, and was shortlisted for the Waterstones Debut Fiction Prize and longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction. She is also the author of a collection of short stories, The End of the World Is a Cul de Sac – ‘a dazzling, heartbreaking debut’ (The Guardian).  She has written for The Guardian, the Irish Times and BBC Radio 4. Before becoming a writer, she worked as a chef for almost thirty years. 

‘Kennedy’s voice, and her unforgiving gaze, are electric’ Sunday Times

Competition guideline

  • The Prize is open to anyone over 16.Entries must be entirely the work of the entrant and must never have been published, self-published,published online or broadcast.
  • English translations of work originally written in another language are acceptable, as long as translator has permission, and author and translator agree to share prize money.
    Simultaneous submissions accepted.You can enter as as many stories as you like.
  • There is a word limit of 3,000.
  • Read the whole guideline and submit your entry here.
VoW Research
Author: VoW Research

Be LIT! Please share this page...

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments