Skip to content

Online Events for Writers

The best online events for writers of fiction, poetry, and memoir.
Learn. Connect. Grow.

Post your events on social media using the hashtag  #valleyofwritersevents to get onto our radar. All times are US Eastern Time.


Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

FREE | Reedsy Live – How to Write Engaging Characters

August 3 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm EDT

Free
How to Write Engaging Characters _ Reedsy Live

Learn how to bring your characters to life with nothing more than the written word.

About this event

Everyone loves masterfully crafted book characters, but what does it take to bring one to life?

Wrestling with fictional characters is a familiar pastime for experienced as well as new writers. Yet, every reader who cracks open a book expects to be fascinated by the people they meet there. It’s an ongoing struggle to create realistic characters who fulfill all the functions of the story and resonate with the reader as real, engaging people.

In this webinar, author and editor Oksana Marafioti will teach you:

  • The basics of writing characters;
  • Techniques for making them believable and entertaining; and
  • How to make sure they fit into your story.

Register now!

Wednesday 3rd August at 3 pm New York • Noon Pacific • 8 pm London • 12.30 am Delhi • 3 am Hong Kong • 5 am Sydney

Oksana Marafioti is the bestselling author of AMERICAN GYPSY: A MEMOIR (FSG, 2012). Her writings have appeared in RUMPUS, SLATE, TIME magazines, and more. Oksana was the 2013 BMI – Library of Congress Fellow and the 2020 recipient of the Picador Excellence in Literature Award from the University of Leipzig, Germany. She is the founder of Lounge Writers, an online creative writing studio that offers craft classes to writers of all genres and l

Venue

Virtual Event

Organizer

Reedsy Live
View Organizer Website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Please note:

The Valley of Writers team scours the web looking for the most inspiring, elevating, and accessible events that we can share as a service to our readers.
The big idea is that in a virtual arena, more people can participate. Geographical boundaries matter less.
The events we list are virtual and can be attended by writers from wherever they are in the world.
Unless otherwise stated, we are not affiliated with and do not benefit financially from the events we post. Listing is not an endorsement of the content, opinions, or products promoted by the event organizers we feature here.
Please verify all dates, times and other event details as these are subject to change and are beyond our control.

What qualifies an event as ‘lit’? Any event that we think would teach writers of fiction, memoir, and poetry useful skills, inspire them to produce great work, remind them of the power of this work we do and build stronger, mutually beneficial ties between writers and other creatives.





The Valley of Writers & New Writers TV websites participate in affiliate programs.
We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases when we refer some products or services.
This does not increase the cost you, but makes it possible for us to earn a little sumpin' sumpin'.
Read our full Affiliate Disclosure
Copyright © Valley of Writers | 2020 - 2022
Terms | Privacy
Proudly managed by Artist Dynamix & hosted by Siteground